Oscar Lang reveals the video for ’21st Century Hobby’

The track is taken from his upcoming debut album ‘Chew The Scenery’.

With his eagerly-awaited debut album ‘Chew The Scenery’ now set to arrive on 13th August on Dirty Hit, Oscar Lang is sharing the video for ’21st Century Hobby’.

“‘21st Century Hobby’ is a tune based on the idea of society’s obsession with sharing your life online and comparing yourself to other people,” Oscar explains. “There was one point where I was spending 13 hours a week on social media, which equated to about a month every year. That was a really dark time for me - I always thought that it would never affect me, but it took some time to realise that it was subconsciously affecting my mental health.

“With the ‘21st Century Hobby’ video, I wanted to bring to life the experience of scrolling endlessly on social media into physical characters dancing around me to show the chaos and over-the-top-ness of everyday online activity.”

Watch it now below.

‘Chew The Scenery’ Tracklisting:
1. Our Feature Presentation
2. 21st Century Hobby
3. I Could Swear
4. Stuck
5. Yeah!
6. Headphones
7. Write Me A Letter
8. Intermission
9. Are You Happy
10. Quarter Past Nine
11. Take Time Out
12. Final Call
13. Thank You

See Oscar live at the following dates:

14 - 110 Above Festival, Leicester

25 - Dot to Dot Festival, Bristol
26 - Dot to Dot Festival, Nottingham

19 - The Deaf Institute, Manchester
20 - Jacaranda Records, Liverpool
21 - Yellow Arch Studios, Sheffield
25 - Firebug, Leicester
26 - Komedia, Brighton
27 - The Forum, Tunbridge Wells
28 - Camden Assembly, London

11 - Sonic Wave Festival, Birmingham

Tags: Oscar Lang, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY