Sigur Rós announce orchestral album ‘Odin’s Raven Magic’

Listen to lead single ‘Dvergmál’ now.

Confirming the release of their long-awaited new album, Sigur Rós have announced that their orchestral album ‘Odin’s Raven Magic’, featuring the Schola Cantorum of Reykjavik and L’Orchestre des Laureats du Conservatoire national de Paris, will be arriving on 4th December.

A collaboration between the band and Icelandic music legend Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson (who is also ordained ‘chief goði’ of the pagan Norse religion Ásatrúarfélagið) and Steindór Andersen,one of Iceland’s most respected chanters of traditional epic narrative, the album was inspired by Hilmarsson’s fascination with the poem Hrafnagaldur Óðins.

“Hrafnagaldur Óðins has lots of interpretation and implications that fire up the imagination…” He explains. “It’s a very visual poem, with images all about falling down, and a world freezing from north to south. It was an apocalyptic warning. Perhaps the people of the time felt it in their skins. Today, of course, Iceland is involved in environmental issues surrounding hydro-electric power and the destruction of the highlands. We are being warned again.”

Sharing lead single ‘Dvergmál’ alongside the news, see the full track list below.

‘Odin’s Raven Magic’ Tracklisting:
1. Prologus
2. Alföður orkar
3. Dvergmál
4. Stendur æva
5. Áss hinn hvíti
6. Hvert stefnir
7. Spár eða spakmál
8. Dagrenning

Tags: Sigur Rós, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY