News Sky Larkin Reveal New Track ‘Loom’, Announce New Album

Here’s the newest taste of the band’s forthcoming album, ‘Motto’.

Sky Larkin have unveiled a brand new track, in the form of 'Loom'.

Taken from their forthcoming album, 'Motto', which they've now confirmed is due for release on 16th September, the newest snippet is set to be officially showcased as a single a week earlier, on 9th.

Following on from their previous offering - the title track of the album - you can take a listen to 'Loom' below.

Speaking of the track itself, singer Katie Harkin explains: 'This song is about the presence after loss. I knew that the inspiration for this song meant that it would be the saddest on the record for me, so I consciously attempted a fake-out with myself. I wanted it to be our 'Enola Gay', pop on the surface with a darkness that the casual listener might not pick up on. For me that's one of the funniest things about songs: they can be powerful without being self-evident.'

You can also check out the tracklisting of their new album - which was recorded in Seattle with producer John Goodmanson - below.

1. Motto
2. Newsworthy
3. The Loyal Beat
4. Treasury
5. Loom
6. Carve It Out
7. Tarn
8. Frozen Summer
9. Bravo Dodo
10. Overgrown
11. Italics
12. Que Linda (wake to applause)

Sky Larkin release 'Motto' on 16th September through Wichita Recordings, and they'll be heading out on a UK tour shortly after.

03 Y Not Festival, Derbyshire

18 Beacons Festival, Yorkshire

17 London, Lexington
18 Leicester, Firebug
19 Sheffield, The Harley

21 Glasgow, Cut Loose show @ Nice 'n' Sleazy
22 Sunderland, Pop Recs Ltd
23 Leeds, Brudenell

24 Southampton, Joiners
25 Nottingham, Bodega
26 Cardiff, Ten Feet Tall

28 Aldershot, West End Centre
30 Manchester, Deaf Institute

Tags: Sky Larkin, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.