Surfer Blood showcase new track ‘I Can’t Explain’

The band have revealed another cut from their forthcoming album ‘1000 Palms’.

Surfer Blood are releasing their third album ‘1000 Palms’ later this year, and now they’ve revealed another new track from it.

Taken from the follow-up to 2013’s ‘Pythons’, their newest offering ‘I Can’t Explain’ follows on from their previous cut, ‘Dorian’, which was previewed alongside the album news.

“I Can’t Explain is one of our most collaborative efforts to date,” the band’s John Paul Pitts has said in a press release. “The hook just came to us one day in the practice space and we wrote the rest of the song around it. The lyrics (by Kevin Williams) tell the story of a romantic encounter on a New Year’s Eve past and build slowly with the rest of the song. I’ve always been keen on a long instrumental outro, so this seemed like the perfect spot for a long, jammy guitar section - a place for us to get some Yo La Tengo/Built to Spill guitar fetishizing out of our system.”

Listen to ‘I Can’t Explain’ below. ‘1000 Palms’ will be released on 11th May through UK label Fierce Panda.

The tracklisting for the album is as follows.

1. Grand Inquisitor
2. Island
3. I Can’t Explain
4. Feast/Famine
5. Point of No Return
6. Sabre-Tooth and Bone
7. Covered Wagons
8. Dorian
9. Into Catacombs
10. Other Desert Cities
11. NW Passage

Tags: Surfer Blood, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY