Tame Impala announces fourth album ‘The Slow Rush’

Kevin Parker has also shared new track ‘It Might Be Time’!

Photo: Neil Krug

When he dropped ‘Patience’ back in March this year, it seems that Kevin Parker was giving us a little foreshadowing of what we’d need before Tame Impala’s fourth record was officially announced, but luckily the time is finally here!

Revealing details today, the highly anticipated new album is called ‘The Slow Rush’ and will officially land on Valentine’s Day next year. Cute, eh? The first full length since 2015’s ‘Currents’, the record was recorded between LA and Kevin’s hometown of Fremantle in Australia.

Talking to New York Times earlier this year, he explained of the themes on the album: “A lot of the songs carry this idea of time passing, of seeing your life flash before your eyes, being able to see clearly your life from this point onwards. I’m being swept by this notion of time passing. There’s something really intoxicating about it.”

And because he’s such a lovely bloke, Kevin’s also giving us our latest glimpse of what to expect from the new 12-track album by sharing newbie ‘It Might Be Time’. A sure-to-be Tame Impala classic, it’s full of heavy synth sounds and pulsating grooves, acting as the perfect follow-up to previously released album-cut ‘Borderline’.

Pre-order ‘The Slow Rush’ here and start your countdown to 14th Feb now!

Tags: Tame Impala, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY