Titus Andronicus share details of new album ‘An Obelisk’

The band’s sixth album comes produced by Hüsker Dü’s Bob Mould.

Photo: Ray Concepcion

Titus Andronicus have shared details of their new album, ‘An Obelisk’.

The New Jersey band will release their sixth album - which follows on from last year’s ‘A Productive Cough’ - on 21st June via Merge Records.

Their new record, which was recorded in just six days at Steve Albini’s Chicago studio Electrical Audio, also comes produced by Hüsker Dü’s Bob Mould.

The tracklisting is as follows.

1. Just Like Ringing A Bell
2. Troubleman Unlimited
3. (I Blame) Society
4. My Body And Me5. Hey Ma
6. Beneath The Boot
7. On The Street
8. Within The Gravitron
9. The Lion Inside
10. Tumult Around The World

Speaking of the album, the band’s Patrick Stickles has said: “The ideology of ‘punk’ supports the elevation of our own interior authority and the degradation of exterior authority, which we recognise to be arbitrary, a tool by which the many are subjugated under the few. While the common ‘punk rocker’ will take this as license to piss on the street and generally pursue a lifestyle of nihilistic hedonism, the true ‘punk’ will recognise the price of this freedom. ‘An Obelisk’ tells the story of one particular individual, someone maybe a lot like you but certainly a lot like me, scouring linty pockets, trying to pay that bill.”

The band have also offered up a first taste of the album in the form of ‘(I Blame) Society’, which you can listen to below.

Tags: Titus Andronicus, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY