Neu Pick Brooke Bentham brings bring raw, reverb-strewn energy on new track ‘Out Of My Mind’  

Brooke Bentham brings bring raw, reverb-strewn energy on new track ‘Out Of My Mind’

The London-based musician’s first new music of 2018 is our Neu Pick of the day.

Every weekday, DIY’s new music know-it-all Neu brings you one essential new release to get obsessed with. Today’s Neu Pick comes from Brooke Bentham.

Brooke Bentham’s previous singles (‘Have To Be Around You’‘Losing, Baby’‘I Need Your Body’) may have taken things in a more slower, folk-tinged direction, but on new release ‘Out Of My Mind’ the London-based singer-songwriter ramps things up a notch. 

Produced by Bill Ryder-Jones, ‘Out Of My Mind’ kicks off with a scuzzy, almost shoegaze-like riff, before expanding into a stomping, powerful rock anthem with Brooke’s rich voice forming the centre-piece, demanding that we “listen to what [she] says”.

‘Out Of My Mind’ is, according to Brooke, “about what happens when you don’t communicate fully in a relationship. The lyrics are pretty tongue in cheek and I wanted it to sound as though it comes from a place of anger. I’m still in the relationship I wrote it about, so it’s just really funny to me now.” 

As well as currently working on the follow-up to her previous two EPs - ‘This Rapture’ and ‘The Room Swayed’ - Brooke is also due to support Soccer Mommy on her UK tour from tonight (4th September).

Listen to ‘Out Of My Mind’ and view the Soccer Mommy dates below.

04 Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
05 Manchester, Deaf Institute
07 Dublin, Grand Social
08 Liverpool, Shipping Forecast
10 Nottingham, Bodega
11 Bristol, Louisiana
13 London, Scala
14 Gent, Dok
17 Gothenburg, Oceanen
18 Stockholm, Melodybox
19 Copenhagen, Ideal Bar @ Vega

Read More

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

World tours and a hype-harvesting debut album made this trio one of America’s most essential groups. Back home in New York, they explain how ‘devotional’ new LP ‘Dog Whistle’ expanded their horizons.

PUP: Dead Funny

PUP: Dead Funny

The Toronto punks return with third album ‘Morbid Stuff’, a record that laughs and rages in the face of death and despair with bags of wit, humour and defiance.

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

Ahead of the release of their explosive debut, we meet Fontaines DC in the city that shaped them, to unpack the creative ethos driving their success.