Conor Oberst is releasing new album ‘Salutations’ in March

It’ll contain reworked, full-band versions of the tracks from ‘Ruminations’ and new songs.

There’s nothing quite like burning the midnight oil, is there? Only a couple of months ago, Conor Oberst released his reflective, nostalgic album ‘Ruminations’, but he’s already gearing up to release the follow-up.

OK, technically speaking ‘Salutations’, which is out on 17th March, is a companion piece and it features all 10 songs from ‘Ruminations’ completely reworked with a full band, as well as seven new tracks.

According to Conor, he always intended for the songs to be heard in this new format and so ‘Salutations’ is set to be closer to his original vision for the album. It’ll also feature guest spots from the likes of Gillian Welch, M. Ward and more. Wonder if this is the format he’ll be playing at his upcoming UK shows?

As a taster of what the record sounds like beefed up, Conor has shared a video for of ‘A Little Uncanny’. The new version has a country-flavoured stomp and more than a bit of harmonica.

Check out the video for ‘A Little Uncanny’ and the ‘Salutations’ tracklisting below.

1. Too Late To Fixate
2. Gossamer Thin
3. Overdue
4. Afterthought
5. Next Of Kin
6. Napalm
7. Mamah Borthwick (A Sketch)
8. Till St. Dymphna’s Kicks Us Out
9. Barbary Coast (Later)
10. Tachycardia
11. Empty Hotel By The Sea
12. Anytime Soon
13. Counting Sheep
14. The Rain Follows The Plow
15. You All Loved Him Once
16. A Little Uncanny
17. Salutations

Tags: Conor Oberst, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

April 2024

With Bob Vylan, St Vincent, girl in red, Lizzy McAlpine and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY