Listen: Daughter share ‘Numbers’

It’s the second track to be lifted from ‘Not To Disappear’.

Daughter have shared the second cut from their upcoming ‘Not To Disappear’ album in the form of ‘Numbers’.

The track follows ‘Doing The Right Thing’ in previewing the LP, released via 4AD on 15th January.

Speaking to Annie Mac as she premiered the track as Radio 1’s Hottest Record, Elena Tonra explained that the louder, more dynamic sound shown on the two new tracks came from the band’s two year tour for debut album ‘If You Leave’, and the how the older songs grew and changed. Lyrically, Tonra explained ‘Not To Disappear is “a study of the different ways to feel alone”.

Daughter are set to play three UK shows next year in advance of the album’s release, before heading out on a full UK and European tour in the new year.

Read DIY’s chat with Tonra about the making of ‘Not To Disappear’ here, and stream ‘Numbers’ and view the band’s upcoming tour dates below.

Update: ‘Numbers’ now has a video, the second in a trilogy of interlinked films by artists Iain and Jane. Watch it via NPR.


16 Glasgow, Art School
18 Bristol, Trinity
19 London, St. John at Hackney Church


15 Cambridge, Corn Exchange
16 Oxford, Academy
17 Brighton, Dome
18 Portsmouth, Pyramids
20 Birmingham, Institute
21 Manchester, Albert Hall
22 Liverpool, Academy
23 Edinburgh, Queen’s Hall
25 Newcastle, Academy
26 Leeds, Beckett University
27 Nottingham, Rock City
28 London, The Forum
30 Paris, Gaite Lyrique
31 Cologne, Kantine


01 Amsterdam, Paradiso
03 Hamburg, Gruenspan
04 Copenhagen, Vega
05 Stockholm, Debaser Medis
07 Berlin, Kesselhaus
08 Munich, Technikum
09 Zurich, Kaufleuten
10 Brussels, AB

Tags: Daughter, Listen, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More