News Devendra Banhart Shares More ‘Mala’ Details

The singer-songwriter’s eighth studio album will be released in March.

After having announced he would be releasing a new album in 2013 back in December of last year, beardy singer-songwriter type Devendra Banhart has today revealed further details of that very record.

'Mala', for that is its name, will be released on 11th March via new label Nonesuch. It's his first album since 2009's 'What Will We Be', and was co-produced with long-time bandmate, guitarist Noah Georgeson at home in Los Angeles.

The pair play most of the instruments on the record, including - as they explain in a press release - a vintage Tascam recorder. “A lot of early hip-hop had been made on [the Tascam],” says Banhart. “And knowing my songs are not hip-hop whatsoever, we thought it would be interesting to see how these kinds of songs would sound on equipment that was used to record our favorite rap. Let’s see how this technology would work for us.”

One of the album's number, track three 'Für Hindegard von Bingen' is available to stream right now via Pitchfork.

The tracklisting is:

1. Golden Girls
2. Daniel
3. Für Hildegard von Bingen
4. Never Seen Such Good Things
5. Mi Negrita
6. Your Fine Petting Duck
7. The Ballad of Keenan Milton
8. A Gain
9. Won't You Come Over?
10. Cristobal
11. Hatchet Wound
12. Mala
13. Won't You Come Home
14. Taurobolium

Tags: Devendra Banhart, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.