Ibeyi have announced their new album ‘Ash’

They’ve also shared ‘Deathless’ featuring Kamasi Washington.

After returning with new track ‘Away Away’ earlier in the year, twins Naomi and Lisa-Kaindé Díaz, better known as Ibeyi have announced plans for their new album!

‘Ash’ is set to be released on 29th September through XL and will feature Chilly Gonzalez, Meshell Ndegeocello, and Mala Rodriguez, with Richard Russell on production duties. They’ve also shared a new video for their track ‘Deathless’, which features jazz saxophonist Kamasi Washington. In it, miniature versions of the sisters continue to emerge from the other, turning the pair into Russian dolls unable to escape the cycle of rebirth.

As reported by Pitchfork, ‘Deathless’ was written after Lisa-Kaindé’s wrongful arrest by French police. She said: “I was writing ‘Deathless’ as an anthem for everybody! For every minority. For everybody that feels that they are nothing, that feels small, that feels not cared about and I want them to listen to our song and for three minutes feel large, powerful, deathless. I have a huge amount of respect for people who fought for, what I think, are my rights today and if we all sing together “we are deathless,” they will be living through us into a better world”.

Watch the video for ‘Deathless’ and see the tracklisting for ‘Ash’ below.

01. I Carried This for Years
02. Away Away
03. Deathless [ft. Kamasi Washington]
04. I Wanna Be Like You
05. No Man Is Big Enough for My Arms
06. Valé
07. Waves
08. Transmission/Michaelion [ft. Meshell Ndegeocello]
09. Me Voy [ft. Mala Rodriguez]
10. When Will I Learn [ft. Chilly Gonzales]
11. Numb
12. Ash

Tags: Ibeyi, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

September 2023

Featuring James Blake, Romy, Marika Hackman, yeule and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY