Jagwar Ma Announce Debut Album, Stream ‘Man I Need’

The Aus-based duo have a ten-minute spanning new single to help preview their first work.

Neu favourites Jagwar Ma have announced plans to release their debut album, ‘Howlin’, on 10th June via. Marathon Artists.

The album features ‘With Love’, ‘Come Save Me’ and ‘The Throw’, previously unveiled tracks that hint at a disparately-inspired album all connected by an overwhelming party atmosphere.

New song ‘Man I Need’ confirms as much. Its “white label version” spans a whole nine-and-a-half minutes, going from bold choruses to semi-prog mid-sections, right back to a four-minute, percussion-infused frenzy that never looks like letting up. There’s even room for a little bit of birdsong towards the end. Hell, these guys throw everything into their tracks.

In a recent DIY interview with David Zammitt, the band said of the record: “The album – it’s weird. There are songs that sound like all kinds of stuff. There’s the 60s thing, which we love, then both of us are massive fans of the Beastie Boys and shit like that. Their beats, the rhythms, and then the humour in it, which is really cool. And then there are parts that are like KLF – the techno. It kind of verges on that as well.

Stream ‘Man I Need’ and lose yourself for a good ten minutes:

‘Howlin”s tracklist

1. What Love
2. Uncertainty
3. The Throw
4. That Loneliness
5. Come Save Me
6. Four
7. Let Her Go
8. Man I Need
9. Exercise
10. Did You Have To
11. Backwards Berlin

Tags: News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY