James Blake’s new album ‘The Colour In Anything’ is out tonight!

The sweet prince of ambient chillax aired brand new previews from the album on BBC Radio 1.

The radio silence is officially over! This evening James Blake aired a bunch of material from his upcoming new album on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show, and confirmed that it’s called ‘The Colour In Anything’. And, brace yourselves. It’s out in a few hours. Yep, as in TONIGHT!

James Blake recorded his new album “all over the place” - writing in England, and popping Stateside to work with production enigma Rick Rubin at his Shangri-La studio.

First up James Blake played ‘Radio Silence,’ and revealed that for a long time, it was the title track for the new album. That song first made an appearance at Latitude last year, and skitters with a yearning hook; “I can’t believe that you don’t want to see me”. He then played ‘I Need A Forest Fire’ - a Bon Iver collaboration also taken from ‘The Colour In Anything’. Shortly after coming off air, the cheeky so-and-so shared ANOTHER new song, ‘My Willing Heart’.

The sweet prince of ambient chillax and howls of pain about England has been up to his old tricks as of late. This week he’s been pasting up ‘The Colour in Anything’ murals by Sir Quentin Blake in London and Brooklyn, dropping fairly strong hints about his now confirmed title . Although, come on James mate - considering the Roald Dahl illustrator connection, you could’ve called it ‘James and the Giant Peach’. A missed opportunity!

Earlier this year Blakey boy really set things in motion when he shared ‘Modern Soul’ - while most of us were busy watching Kanye West’s ‘The Life of Pablo’. Last month another new track, ‘Timeless’, aired on his BBC radio show. He also confirmed that the album is finished, adding “I’m really happy with it.” Which is good to hear, really.

Eyes peeled for midnight (GMT), when ‘The Colour In Anything’ is coming out, in full.

Listen to THREE new James Blake songs - ‘Radio Silence,’ ‘My Willing Heart’ and ‘I Need A Forest Fire’ - below. The tracklist for the album has also just been released via Blake’s Instagram. One less than promised, it’s seventeen tracks long. View that below.

The Colour In Anything. Released this evening at midnight (bst)

A photo posted by James Blake (@jamesblake) on

Radio Silence

I Need A Forest Fire

My Willing Heart

Tags: James Blake, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY