Rina Sawayama drops new bop ‘LUCID’

It’s her first new music since the release of ‘SAWAYAMA’.

After a fab year that’s seen her release her debut album ‘SAWAYAMA’ and been rightfully propelled to the top spot of the new pop greats, Rina Sawayama is seeing the year out with a bang, sharing brand new bop ‘LUCID’.

Her first new music since ‘SAWAYAMA’ arrived in April, ‘LUCID’ is a Lady Gaga-esque banger, co-written with Lauren Aqualina and produced by BloodPop who teased the track over two years ago!

“It’s about living a different life through dreaming, whether it’s to be with the dream girl or to be the dream girl,” Rina explains. “Me and Lauren Aquilina wrote this together on the floor of my tiny rented living room back in early 2018. BloodPop sent us the beat and the melody flowed out so easily that I remember at one point I started hoovering cos I knew this would be easy to write lol. I’ve kept this song secret for 2 years so I’m so excited to finally release it to the world! 2020’s been a tough year so I wanted to finish it off with a dance bop to take us into a more hopeful 2021 ❤”

The track will feature on Rina’s upcoming deluxe album, ‘SAWAYAMA: Deluxe Edition’, which arrives on 4th December! Check out the full LP track list below, and revisit our March 2020 cover interview with Rina here.

‘SAWAYAMA: Deluxe Edition’ Tracklisting:

Disc 1:
1. Dynasty
2. XS
3. STFU!
4. Comme des Garçons (Like The Boys)
5. Akasaka Sad
6. Paradisin’
7. Love Me 4 Me
8. Bad Friend
9. Fuck This World (Interlude)
10. Who’s Gonna Save U Now?
11. Tokyo Love Hotel
12. Chosen Family
13. Snakeskin

Disc 2:
2. We Out Here (Bonus Track)
3. Bees & Honey (Bonus Track)
4. Love It If We Made It
5. XS (Live)
6. STFU! (Acoustic)
7. Bad Friend (Acoustic)
8. Chosen Family (Acoustic)
9. Comme Des Garçons (Like The Boys) - Pabllo Vittar Remix
10. XS feat. Bree Runway - Remix
11. Bad Friend - Dream Wife Remix

Tags: Rina Sawayama, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY