Mastodon have detailed their new album ‘Emperor of Sand’

They’ve also shared the LP’s opening track, ‘Sultan’s Curse’.

Iconic metal outfit Mastodon are plotting the release of their seventh album.

‘Emperor Of Sand’ will be out on 31st March via Reprise Records. It’s the follow up to ‘Once More Round The Sun’ and comes not too long after the release of Gone Is Gone’s ‘Echolocation’, where the band’s Troy Sanders teamed up with Queens of the Stone Age guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen and At The Drive-In drummer Tony Hajjar.

As a taster of what to expect, the band have shared the opening track of the LP, the somewhat aptly-titled ‘Sultan’s Curse’. Kicking off with some ominous, exotic percussion, it soon morphs into what everyone loves the band for: crushing riffs and pounding drums. It’s classic Mastodon.

Mastodon are also headed out on a 30-date tour of the US, which kicks off in April and extends until the end of May. They’ve nabbed some pretty impressive support in the form of Eagles of Death Metal and Russian Circles to boot. Check out all of their upcoming tour dates here.

Listen to ‘Sultan’s Curse’ and check out the full tracklisting for ‘Emperor of Sand’ below.

1. Sultan’s Curse
2. Show Yourself
3. Precious Stones
4. Steambreather
5. Roots Remain
6. Word To The Wise
7. Ancient Kingdom
8. Clandestiny
9. Andromeda
10. Scorpion Breath
11. Jaguar God

Tags: Mastodon, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

March 2024

Featuring Green Day, English Teacher, Everything Everything, Caity Baser and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY