Stephen Malkmus to release ‘electronic’ album ‘Groove Denied’

It’s out in March.

Stephen Malkmus to release ‘electronic’ album ‘Groove Denied’

Stephen Malkmus - formerly of Pavement, usually of The Jicks - has announced details of his first ‘electronic’ album.

‘Groove Denied’ will be released on 15th March, and features track ‘Viktor Borgia’ for which the indie stalwart is literally dancing in a club.

The record was previously “rejected” by his label, Stephen has repeatedly said in interviews, after he embraced synths.

It follows last year’s Jicks album, ‘Sparkle Hard’.

“Yes, I was thinking things like Pete Shelley’s ‘Homosapien’, the Human League, and DIY synth music circa 1982,” says Stephen of the lead single, adding “and also about how in the New Wave Eighties, these suburban 18-and-over dance clubs were where all the freaks would meet - a sanctuary.”

The track listing for ‘Groove Denied’ is:

1. Belziger Faceplant
2. A Bit Wilder
3. Viktor Borgia
4. Come Get Me
5. Forget Your Place
6. Rushing The Acid Frat
7. Love The Door
8. Bossviscerate
9. Ocean of Revenge
10. Grown Nothing

Stephen plays Primavera Sound in May with The Jicks.

Watch the video for ‘Viktor Borgia’ below.

Tags: News, Stephen Malkmus, Watch

More like this

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY