Swans Unveil New Song ‘A Little God in My Hands’, Six-Part Album Art

Swans’ ‘To Be Kind’ is released on 12th May.

Michael Gira’s Swans have unveiled the first song from their ‘To Be Kind’ album, which features guest contributions from St. Vincent’s Annie Clark, Cold Specks, Little Annie and Bill Rieflin.

‘A Little God in My Hands’ arrives as a free download (below), alongside six-part album art showing various baby faces against a striking yellow background. The art’s from Bob Biggs, someone who’s been in close quarters with Gira for the past three decades.

‘I was at the house of a friend (and a friend of Bob’s), and I noticed an unfathomable image on the wall,’ recounts Michael Gira in a description alongside the unveiling.

‘I look at Bob’s baby images as something like the Mona Lisa—utterly inscrutable, but ACHING to reach up to the surface. Or like one of Jasper Johns’ flag paintings—I just can’t figure them out, but they keep calling me back.

’I recall asking Bob in 1981 or so if I could use one of those baby images for a record, and he said, definitively, NO.’

‘To Be Kind’ is released on 12th May. Check out Swans’ UK & US dates below the various baby art.

14 Washington DC, Black Cat Mainstage
15 Philadelphia PA, Union Transfer
17 Boston MA, Royale Nightclub
18 New York NY, Bowery Ballroom
19 Brooklyn NY, Music Hall of Williamsburg
22 Manchester, Academy 2
23 Newcastle, Hoults Yard
24 Glasgow, The Arches
25 Aberdeen, The Lemon Tree
27 London, Brixton Electric
28 Bristol, Trinity Community Arts
29 Reading, Sub89
31 Birmingham, Supersonic Festival – Custard Factory

01 Leeds, Cockpit
02 Brighton, Concorde 2

Tags: Silver Swans, Swans, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

February 2024

Featuring The Last Dinner Party, IDLES, Yard Act, Crawlers, Remi Wolf and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY