Taylor Swift announces new album ‘folklore’

Her eighth studio album is landing tonight!

Surprise! Taylor Swift has taken to social media to confirm that she’ll be dropping eighth studio album ‘folklore’ tonight!

“Most of the things I had planned for this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen.” She says in a statement. “And that thing is my 8th studio album, folklore. Surprise!”

Set for release at midnight tonight, the new album was written and recorded in isolation, with Taylor collabing with some of her “musical heroes” including The National’s Aaron Dessner, Bon Iver (who sings on one of the songs), William Bowery and Jack Antonoff.

With songs that see her pour all of her “whims, dreams, fears, and musings” into, she adds “Before this year I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed. My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should just put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty that I can get on board with.”

Made up of 16 songs, see the full announcement and track list below.

‘folklore’ Tracklisting:

1. the 1
2. cardigan
3. the last great american dynasty
4. exile (featuring bon iver)
5. my tears ricochet
6. mirrorball
7. seven
8. august
9. this is me trying
10. illicit affairs
11. invisible string
12. mad woman
13. epiphany
14. betty
15. peace
16. hoax
bonus track: the lakes

Tags: Taylor Swift, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

September 2023

Featuring James Blake, Romy, Marika Hackman, yeule and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY