The Gaslight Anthem recruit Bruce Springsteen for new track ‘History Books’

The New Jersey band have also confirmed details of a new album of the same name.

The Gaslight Anthem have only gone and done it: they’ve finally collaborated with The Boss himself, Bruce Springsteen.

The New Jersey natives have teamed up for the band’s new single ‘History Books’, which also doubles as the title of their forthcoming new album, due for release on 27th October. It’ll be their first record since their 2014 album ‘Get Hurt’, and saw them work with producer/engineer Peter Katis (The National, Interpol, Death Cab for Cutie) at his Tarquin Studios in Bridgeport, CT.

Speaking of their new track with Springsteen, the band’s Brian Fallon has said: “When Bruce Springsteen said I should write a duet for us, I think my head exploded. It will never get old to me that one of the greatest songwriters in the world, and the voice of one of my heroes will forever be captured in a song I wrote at a small wooden desk, in October, in New Jersey.”

The track ‘History Books’ follows on from their recent comeback single ‘Positive Charge’, which landed back in April. Check out the video for ‘History Books’ - as directed by photographer Kelsey Ayres - below, and find the tracklisting for their new record underneath the player.

1. Spider Bites
2. History Books (feat. Bruce Springsteen)
3. Autumn
4. Positive Charge
5. Michigan, 1975
6. Little Fires
7. The Weatherman
8. Empires
9. I Live In The Room Above Her
10. A Lifetime Of Preludes

Get tickets to watch The Gaslight Anthem live now.

Tags: The Gaslight Anthem, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY