Watch: All American Rejects Unveil ‘Walk Over Me’ Video

The Oklahoma four-piece released their fourth record ‘Kids In The Street’ back on the 27th March.

All American Rejects have unveiled their brand new video for ‘Walk Over Me’.

The Oklahoma four-piece released their fourth record ‘Kids In The Street’ back on the 27th March, and we recently spoke to Nick Wheeler about it.

‘We always want to make sure that the next thing we create is better than the last. This one in particular is special; we put a lot into this and we put a lot into it as adults, as people who have been doing this for over a decade - we’ve been waiting a long time to make this record. We’re definitely the most proud of ‘Kids In The Street’.’

‘I think we’re definitely more open to spontaneity and just pushing ourselves and challenging ourselves to do things differently. I think when you’re young and you’re writing, you’re in this box of all you know and you write about that, you sing about that. Now, having experienced a lot, you grow. If we wanted to, we could probably make another ‘Move Along’ or ‘When The World Comes Down’, of course it wouldn’t be the same - it would just be watered down versions of that.

‘I think the goal to grow as songwriters and musicians is to challenge yourself and each other to do something different; even if a melody or chord progression or guitar tone sounds familiar, we make ourselves do it a different way. We just won’t let ourselves become bored and we continue to challenge ourselves, I feel that’s where we’ve grown the most.’

Tags: The All-American Rejects, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY