Listen John Grant shares two new songs

‘He’s Got His Mothers Hips’ and ‘Touch & Go’ are taken from the singer’s upcoming ‘Love Is Magic’ LP.

John Grant is releasing his new album ‘Love Is Magic’ in October, and has shared two new tracks from it!

‘He’s Got His Mothers Hips’ and ‘Touch & Go’ follow the album’s title track in previewing the follow-up to 2015’s ‘Grey Tickles, Black Pressure’.

The singer offered a few words of explanation on the two new songs. ‘He’s Got His Mother’s Hips’ is “about a cheeseball doing all he can to get into a woman’s pants, making a total ass of himself. It’s a fun song built on disgust.”

‘Touch & Go’, meanwhile, revolves around the story of Chelsea Manning. “I was very intrigued by her incredible story,” John says. “What kind of strength does it take to survive something like that while being decried as a traitor and a pervert for whom death is too good.”

John Grant is set to play a handful of UK shows amongst a world tour in support of the record in October.

View the dates and listen to the new songs below.

29 Brighton, Dome
30 London, Brixton Academy
31 Bath, Forum

02 Sheffield, Octagon Centre
03 Manchester, Albert Hall

John Grant will play Deer Shed, which takes place 29th July - 31st July 2022. DIY is an official media partner. Tickets are on sale now.

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now

More like this

Stranger Than Fiction: John Grant

Stranger Than Fiction: John Grant

John Grant has spent his life trying to find his place in the world. From the minutiae to the most maximal modern horrors, ‘Boy From Michigan’ sets out to punctuate that kaleidoscopic journey.