Confirmed Everything Everything announce new album ‘Re-Animator’

Everything Everything announce new album ‘Re-Animator’

They’ve also shared new track ‘Arch Enemy’.

Three years on since the release of ‘A Fever Dream’, Everything Everything have confirmed that their fifth album will be dropping on 21st August.

Titled ‘Re-Animator’, the upcoming record was partly influenced by frontman Jonathon Higgs’ fascination with psychologist Julian Jaynes’ theory of the bicameral mind. “This idea of the divided self captivated me,” Jonathon explains. “Jaynes attributes this to the origin of gods, people ascribing deity status to this voice they could hear in their head. All this blew my mind, and I started thinking of ways I could make this a central concept. It really touched me. So across the whole record there are millions or references to this theory – to having a split brain, two selves, hearing voices.”

Sharing stomping new track ‘Arch Enemy’ to celebrate, Jonathon says of the song, “‘Arch Enemy’ sees a modern-day protagonist searching for a meaningful God. Finding only a congregation of greed, toxicity and waste, in the form of a sentient fatberg in the sewer, he duly prays to it, willing it to purge the decadent world above that has created it. These growing grease mountains are a curious juxtaposition of the modern and the ancient; a brand new example of archaic squalor.”

Listen to the new track and peep the full ‘Re-Animator’ track list below.

‘Re-Animator’ Tracklisting:
1. Lost Powers
2. Big Climb
3. It Was A Monstering
4. Planets
5. Moonlight
6. Arch Enemy
7. Lord Of The Trapdoor
8. Black Hyena
9. In Birdsong
10. The Actor
11. Violent Sun

More like this

Mind Games: Everything Everything

Mind Games: Everything Everything

Since 2010 debut ‘Man Alive’, Everything Everything have become masters of the intricate and the odd. And fifth album ‘Re-Animator’ is their most uninhibited record yet.

Get To Know… LOVA

Get To Know… LOVA

With her debut album ‘Grown-ish’ out now, meet Sweden’s newest pop talent.