Belle and Sebastian announce new album ‘A Bit Of Previous’

It’s out in May.

Photo: Hollie Fernando
Scottish indie stalwarts Belle and Sebastian must’ve got the memo on that ‘twee revival’ - they’re releasing a new album this spring.

‘A Bit Of Previous’, the group’s first album in seven years, will be out on 6th May.

They’ve also shared new single ‘Unnecessary Drama’.

“The song is about a young person experimenting in being a human again after a forced hiatus”, says frontman Stuart Murdoch. “The person is weighing up whether or not it’s worth the mess! Still, you dip your toe in and it becomes delicious, and you get too much of it. Between trouble and nothing, we still choose the trouble.”

The track listing for the record is:

1. Young And Stupid

2. If They’re Shooting At You

3. Talk To Me Talk To Me

4. Reclaim The Night

5. Do It For Your Country

6. Prophets On Hold

7. Unnecessary Drama

8. Come On Home

9. A World Without You

10. Deathbed Of My Dreams

11. Sea Of Sorrow

12. Working Boy In New York City

They’re also touring the UK later this year.


15 Bristol Harbourside

16 Doune The Rabbit Hole Festival


14 London Roundhouse

15 London Roundhouse

17 Sheffield O2 Academy

18 Liverpool Olympia

19 Hull Asylum

21 Aberdeen Beach Ballroom

23 Edinburgh Usher Hall

24 Newcastle O2 City Hall

25 Manchester Academy

27 Cambridge Corn Exchange

28 Birmingham O2 Academy

29 Southampton O2 Guildhall

30 Brighton Dome

Get tickets to watch Belle and Sebastian live now.

Watch the video for ‘Unnecessary Drama’ below.

Tags: Belle and Sebastian, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY