Ghostpoet reveals ‘Freakshow’

The track, the latest lifted from upcoming fourth album ‘Dark Days & Canapés’, also has a new video.

Photo: Steve Gullick

Ghostpoet is releasing his upcoming fourth album ‘Dark Days & Canapés’ next month, and has revealed another of its tracks.

‘Freakshow’ follows ‘Immigrant Boogie’ and ‘Trouble + Me’ in previewing the record, and comes complete with an intense, apocalyptic new video.

The video is the second in a dystopian series by directors Zhang + Knight. A press release says it “depicts a nightmarish pre-apocalyptic world, in which pleasure seekers and average humans alike search for relief from their synthetic reality.”

Talking about ‘Freakshow’, Obaro Ejimiwe says: “Freakshow is a kind of commentary on modern consumerism - it sums up my general sense of unease in the way we buy our emotions these days, and the unstoppable cash-driven churn we seem to be caught up in as a society.”

Ghostpoet is set to take ‘Dark Days & Canapés’ out on a UK tour later this year. The album comes out on 18th August. Watch the video for ‘Freakshow’ and view the dates below.


24 DUBLIN, Button Factory
25 LIVERPOOL, Invisible Wind Factory
26 NEWCASTLE, Riverside
28 GLASGOW, Stereo
30 LEEDS, Brudenell Social Club
31 BIRMINGHAM, Mama Rouxs


02 CAMBRIDGE, Junction 1
03 OXFORD, Academy 2
04 DOVER, The Booking Hall
06 LEICESTER, Academy 3
07 NOTTINGHAM, Rescue Rooms
08 BRIGHTON, Concorde 2
10 LONDON, Printworks
11 MANCHESTER, Academy 2
12 NORWICH, Arts Centre
13 PORTSMOUTH, Wedgewood Rooms
14 BRISTOL, Marble Factory

Tags: Ghostpoet, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY