Listen Gilla Band release new single ‘Sports Day’

They’ve also announced new tour dates!

Following the release of last year’s album ‘Most Normal’, Gilla Band are back with new single ‘Sports Day’.

“’Sports Day’ is about announcing embarrassing facts (thankfully via a distortion mic),” the band’s Dara Keily explains. “Weird lies you’ve told as a child, poor skills you once thought you were great at and repetitive lines that you still bring up to the same people. The subject matter contains: me being 12 and coming to terms with being crap at football and would never be a professional. At a similar age; having this peculiar routine in which I used to say goodnight to my sports day medals (including kissing my participation ones) before going to bed. Essentially being strangely proud of my achievements of simply showing up. Linking that out of depth feeling to the modern day in the shape of not knowing how to turn on the PA (or anything music equipment related for that matter). Also secretly admiring soap operas while constantly talking about The Beatles to anyone who would listen.”

Check out ‘Sports Day’ below, and revisit our review of Gilla Band’s third album ‘Most Normal’ here.

See Gilla Band live at the following dates:

10 - LA, CA, USA @ Teragram Ballroom
11 - Berkeley, CA, USA @ Cornerstone Berkeley
13 - Portland, OR, USA @ Mission Theater
14 - Vancouver, BC, CANADA @ Wise Hall
15 - Seattle, WA, USA @ Sunset Tavern
21 - Brooklyn, NY, USA @ Brooklyn Made
22 - Philadelphia, PA, USA @ Johnny Brenda's
24 - Cambridge, MA, USA @ Sonias
25 - Washington, DC, USA @ DC9
27 - Chicago, IL , USA @ Lincoln Hall

26 – Birkenhead, UK @ Future Yard
29 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique Orangerie
31 – Poitiers, FR @ Le Confort Moderne

01 – Biarritz, FR @Atabal

Tags: Gilla Band, Listen, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

Normal People: Gilla Band

Normal People: Gilla Band

Dublin’s Gilla Band (fka Girl Band) have never been ones to pander. On ‘Most Normal’, they’re embracing that ethos fully with an art-for-art’s-sake record that stretches from the silly to the sublime.

Latest Issue

March 2023

Featuring Fall Out Boy, Sleaford Mods, Black Honey, Meet Me @ The Altar and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY