IDLES, Let’s Eat Grandma, Shame and more up for AIM Awards

The winners are announced on 4th September at the ceremony in London.

Photo: Emma Swann

The nominations are out for this year’s AIM Awards, and our current cover stars IDLES lead the way with four nominations!

Let’s Eat Grandma are also up for a bunch of AIMs, including Independent Album Of The Year for June’s ‘I’m All Ears’, while Shame also pick up two nominations.

Phoebe Bridgers, SOPHIE, Young Fathers and more are also nominated for awards, for which the winners will be announced at the ceremony in London on 4th September.

Femi Adeyemi, the founder of NTS Radio - has also been given the award for Indie Champion of the Year.

View the full list of nominations below.

Independent Album of the Year - in association with Ingrooves
Charlotte Gainsbourg - Rest (Because Music)
Jorja Smith - Lost & Found (FAMM)
Kamaal Williams - The Return (Warp Records)
Kamasi Washington - Heaven and Earth (XL Recordings)
Let’s Eat Grandma - I’m All Ears (Transgressive)
Nadine Shah - Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])
Phoebe Bridgers - Stranger In The Alps (Dead Oceans)
Shame - Songs Of Praise (Dead Oceans)
Young Fathers - Cocoa Sugar (Ninja Tune)

Independent Track of the Year - in association with Spotify
Bicep - Glue (Ninja Tune)
Christine and the Queens - Girlfriend (Because Music)
Dave - Question Time (Dave)
Peggy Gou - It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)
Charlotte Gainsbourg - Deadly Valentine (Because Music)
Ghostpoet - Immigrant Boogie (Play It Again Sam)
Let’s Eat Grandma - Falling Into Me (Transgressive)
Phoebe Bridgers - Motion Sickness (Dead Oceans)
Shame - One Rizla (Dead Oceans)
Wolf Alice - Don’t Delete The Kisses (Dirty Hit)

Best Sophomore Release - in association with Radio X
Fever Ray - Plunge (Rabid Records)
Gwenno - Le Kov (Heavenly Recordings)
King Krule - The OOZ (XL Recordings)
Let’s Eat Grandma - I’m All Ears (Transgressive)
Nines - Crop Circle (XL Recordings)

UK Breakthrough of the Year - in association with YouTube
AJ Tracey (self-released)
Goat Girl (Rough Trade Records)
IDLES (Partisan Records)
Jorja Smith (FAMM)
SOPHIE (Transgressive)

International Breakthrough of the Year - in association with Deezer
Cigarettes After Sex (Partisan Records)
Confidence Man (Heavenly Recordings)
Moses Sumney (Jagjaguar)
Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)
Zeal & Ardor MVKA)

Best Live Act - in association with Songkick
Cassia (Distiller Records)
DMA’s (Infectious Music)
Erasure (Mute Records)
IDLES (Partisan Records)
Steps (Absolute Label Services)

Hardest Working Group or Artist
DAWN (Dawn Richard) (Our Dawn Entertainment)
IDLES (Partisan Records)
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard (Heavenly Recordings)
Mogwai (Rock Action Records)
Tom Misch (Beyond The Groove)

Best Creative Packaging - in association with MCPS
Black Sabbath - The Ten Year War (BMG)
Fela Kuti - Box Set #4 Curated By Erykah Badu (Partisan Records)
Hüskur Dü - Savage Young Dü (Numero Group)
Oneohtrix Point Never - Age Of (Warp Records)
Wishbone Ash - The Vintage Years 1970-1991 (Snapper Music)

Independent Label of the Year - in association with Believe
Brownswood Recordings
Ninja Tune
Dirty Hit
Deads Oceans

Best Small Label - in association with Awesome Merchandise
Black Acre Records
Rocket Recordings
Rock Action Records
On the Corner Records

Indie Champion Award - in association with [PIAS]
Femi Adeyemi - Founder of NTS Radio

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act
Camelphat & Elderbook (Defected)
Dave (Dave)
Hardy Caprio (A2!)
Jorja Smith (FAMM)
Yxng Bane (Disturbing London)

Independent Video of the Year - in association with Vevo
IDLES - Colossus (Partisan Records) / Directed by Will Hooper
Leon Vynehall - Movements (Chapter III) (Ninja Tune) / Directed by Young Replicant
Moses Sumney - Doomed (Jagjaguar) / Directed by Allie Avital
Novo Amor - Birthplace (AllPoints) / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy
Superorganism - Everybody Want to Be Famous (Domino Records) / Directed by Robert Strangers

Get tickets to watch IDLES live now.

Tags: IDLES, Let’s Eat Grandma, Phoebe Bridgers, shame, News, AIM Awards

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY