Iggy Pop announces new album ‘Free’

It’s his first new record since 2016’s ‘Post Pop Depression’.

Photo: Emma Swann

Today, Iggy Pop has confirmed that his new record, ‘Free’, will be released on the 6th September! The follow-up to 2016’s ‘Post Pop Depression’, the LP sees Iggy delve into a different side of his musical being, creating a uniquely contemplative new album charting his feelings after his last album tour.

“This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…” Iggy explains. “By the end of the tours following ‘Post Pop Depression’, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long. But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free. So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

Check out the track list for ‘Free’ below:

1. Free

2. Loves Missing

3. Sonali

4. James Bond

5. Dirty Sanchez

6. Glow In The Dark

7. Page

8. We Are The People

9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night

10. The Dawn

Tags: Iggy Pop, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY