Japanese Breakfast shares new track ‘Savage Good Boy’

She’s also announced a UK tour for next year!

With her brand new album ‘Jubilee’ out on 4th June on Dead Oceans, Japanese Breakfast is sharing brand new single ‘Savage Good Boy’, alongside the video starring Michael Imperioli of The Sopranos.

“‘Savage Good Boy’ came from a headline I read about billionaires buying bunkers,” Michelle Zauner says. “I was interested in examining that specific type of villainy, and I found myself adopting the perspective of a rich man coaxing a young woman to come live with him underground, attempting to rationalize his almost impossible share of greed and miserliness.

“I knew I wanted the music video to be a pretty literal interpretation of that idea. I wanted to juxtapose images of this post-apocalyptic, industrial bunker with the lightness and extravagance of rococo fashion and set design. Aiming for that balance, my cinematographer, Adam Kolodny, and I were really inspired by Chan Wook Park’s The Handmaiden, Stanley Kubrick’s Barry Lyndon and Sally Potter’s Orlando.”

Alongside the new single, Michelle has also announced that she’ll be heading off on a UK tour next year! Check out the run of dates below.

‘Jubilee’ Tracklisting:
1. Paprika
2. Be Sweet
3. Kokomo, IN
4. Slide Tackle
5. Posing in Bondage
6. Sit
7. Savage Good Boy
8. In Hell
9. Tactics
10. Posing for Cars

See Japanese Breakfast live at the following dates:

MARCH 2022
25 - SWX, Bristol
26 - Manchester Academy 2, Manchester
27 - St Luke’s, Glasgow
28 - Brudenell Community Room, Leeds
30 - O2 Forum Kentish Town, London

Tags: Japanese Breakfast, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY