NiNE8 Collective unveil new double A-side single

Check out ‘Cold Hands / Gotta Get’ now.

Spoiling us today, London’s NiNE8 Collective - the trailblazing crew which includes Lava La Rue, Biig Piig, Mac Wetha, NAYANA IZ, Lorenzorsv, Nige, Bone Slim, L!BAAN and Kxrn - are sharing new double A-side, ‘Cold Hands / Gotta Get’.

Speaking about ‘Cold Hands’, the group say it “took direct inspiration from New York hardcore punk bands like Show Me The Body who have a clear intersection between a brutal dissonant sounds yet obvious hip hop/trap influences. Lava and Mac Wetha were working on the beat in the studio to bring that sound a UK trip hop vibe then Nayana entered the room and brought it a new flavour. It’s a purposefully contrasting A side to drop with ‘Gotta Get’, pulling you into a fever dream so when the beginning of ‘Gotta Get’ comes in, it slaps you in the face back to reality.”

‘Gotta Get’, they add, “focuses on the idea of a do or die mentality. From the artists’ point of view each one of them is seen passionately expressing their need to succeed by pushing past hidden agendas and people’s opinions whilst still having a sense of integrity.”

Check it out below.

Tags: NiNE8, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY