Shiny Joe Ryan announces album ‘Shiny’s Democracy’

The Pond member’s second solo record is released in July.

Shiny Joe Ryan has announced details of new album ‘Shiny’s Democracy’. The Pond member’s second solo effort, it will be released on 23rd July.

He’s also shared new track, ‘Ketamine’.

“The song ‘Ketamine’ is one of my favourites from ‘Shiny’s Democracy’, he says. “The bouncy chords kept circling around my head for so long, it reminded me of a campfire sing along. After mulling the chords over for a long time, some friends and I were laying on an apartment floor in Berlin when we randomly started singing and harmonising together. We spelled out each letter of ketamine to the chords I had written. The harmonies were beautiful, and it was so absurd singing ketamine over those innocent chords that I had no choice but to keep it, write the verses and record it. I find it very funny singing it at shows when my Mum is in the crowd,”

The record is the follow-up to 2014’s ‘The Cosmic Microwave Background’.

The tracklisting is:

1. I’m Singing A New Song
2. H20
3. Dad’s Hat
4. 1000 Miles From Nowhere
5. Ketamine
6. If I Had Nothing
7. Pub Boat
8. I’m Getting Older
9. Yes Song
10. A Stitch In TIme
11. I’m Singing A New Song Pt. 2

Watch the video for ‘Ketamine’ below.

Tags: Shiny Joe Ryan, News, Watch

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY