The Futureheads Set For Full A Cappella Album

‘Rant’ - the fully a cappella album - gets released on the 2nd April.

If you’ve been thinking that The Futureheads have been quiet recently, you wouldn’t be far from the truth, seeing as today, the band have released details of an entirely a cappella album.

The Northerners will release ‘Rant’, the completely a cappella effort, on the 2nd April through Nul Records.

But, why, you may ask? Well, Ross Millard sheds some light: ‘If we were gonna carry on making music, we needed to change it up. Making another Futureheads record as per usual wasn’t something that appealed to us. We’ve always been a four-part harmony group; it’s been a massive part of the genetics of this band.’

Vocalist Barry Hyde also explains what really inspired this new turn. ‘A couple of years ago we did an a cappella version of a Kelis song called Acapella for the Radio 1 Live Lounge. And it was such a buzz to perform live on the radio just with four voices. There’s nothing to hide behind.’

You can hear the a cappella version of ‘Robot’ below too.

And so, that’s that. Featuring several tracks from the band’s previous works, you can find the full tracklisting below.

1. Meantime
2. Meet Me Halfway
3. Robot
4. Beeswing
5. Thursday
6. Sumer Is Icumen In
7. The Keeper
8. The No. 1 Song in Heaven
9. The Old Dun Cow
10. Acapella
11. Man Ray

The band will also be playing several live shows in support of the release.

03 Colston Hall, Bristol
04 Union Chapel, London
05 Wardrobe, Leeds
06 Georgian Theatre, Stockton
08 Sage, Gateshead
09 Oran Mor, Glasgow
10 Glee Club, Birmingham
12 Glee Club, Nottingham
13 Royal College of Music, Manchester

Get tickets to watch The Futureheads live now.

Tags: The Futureheads, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY