Listen: FRIGS announce debut album ‘Basic Behaviour’

FRIGS announce debut album ‘Basic Behaviour’

They’ve also shared new track ‘Talking Pictures’.

Toronto four-piece FRIGS upped the ante with their EP ‘Slush’ in 2016 and back in November they returned with new track ‘Doghead’.

Now they’ve announced their debut full-length album! ‘Basic Behaviour’ is out on 23rd February through Arts & Crafts. It’s been self-produced and was written and recorded over a period of 16 months in two locations: the band’s home studio and Toronto’s Union Sound Company. Check out the tracklisting below.

01. Doghead
02. Talking Pictures
03. Waste
04. Solid State
05. Gemini
06. I
07. II
08. Heavyweights
09. Chest
10. Trashyard

To coincide with the announcement, the band have also shared new track ‘Talking Pictures’. Vocalist Bria Salmena says of the track: “‘Talking Pictures’ was a turning point in the development of Basic Behaviour. There was a starkness to it that really resonated with us at the time, becoming a catalyst for a new style of songwriting that would eventually finish the record”. 

She continued: “Lyrically, it is about the need to be stimulated. It was written during a period where I felt a lack of both external and internal encouragement, preventing me from thinking freely or creatively. Falling into a void of routine, I was distracting myself from real life experiences, and those experiences, once examined, seemed only filtered through interactions with technology and social media. In writing this song, I attempted to explore this void and my distracted state in hopes of losing any numbness I felt in my day-to-day life”.

Listen to ‘Talking Pictures’ below. 

Default ad alt text goes here

Read More

Stranger Things: Our Girl

Stranger Things: Our Girl

A series of promising, formative singles and EPs has led Our Girl to their debut album ‘Stranger Today’ - they talk us through the record in all its wonderful weirdness.