News Listen: Cold Specks Announces ‘Neuroplasticity’ Album, Streams ‘Absisto’

‘Absisto’ heads up Cold Specks’ second album, out this August on Mute.

Canadian songwriter Cold Specks has announced details for her new album, 'Neuroplasticity'.

Real name Al Spx, the second release - out on Mute, 25th August - follows on from 2012 debut 'I Predict a Graceful Expulsion'. It's led by the new single 'Absisto', which brings together jazz rhythms and welcoming, commanding vocals. The whole thing careers skywards in a closing minute that just about resembles Spx's recent guest spot on Swans' 'To Be Kind'.

'Neuroplasticity' arrives alongside a handful of UK dates. Check those out below the player. Catch her first at London's The Lexington on 11th June.

Cold Specks, 'Absisto':
11 London, The Lexington

29-31 Dorset, End of the Road Festival

18 Copenhagen, Vega
19 Hamburg, Reeperbahn
20 Brussels, AB Club
22 Amsterdam, MC Theatre
23 Paris, Fleche D’or
25 Portsmouth, Wedgewood Room
28 Bristol, Colston Hall 2 The Lantern
29 Brighton, Green Door Store

01 Manchester, Band on the Wall

Tags: Cold Specks, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.