LUMP share new track ‘We Cannot Resist’

Lifted from their upcoming second album, ‘Animal’.

Photo: Christian Cargill

With their eagerly-awaited new album ‘Animal’ arriving on 30th July via Partisan/Chrysalis, LUMP are giving us the latest taste of what to expect, sharing new single ‘We Cannot Resist’.

“It wants to be this massive pop track, but it’s been twisted,” Mike Lindsay explains. “I like that when the chorus comes in you’re like ‘Wow!’ It’s this huge pop chorus, but then it becomes really creepy with the whispered ‘We cannot resist’.”

Laura Marling adds, “this is another one about hedonism. But it was tricky because it’s such American imagery. I remember we had to stop and start and redo quite a lot of the lyrical takes because saying things like ‘Down to burn rubber’ are quite awkward to say in an English accent.”

Check out ‘We Cannot Resist’ below, and revisit our chat with Laura and Mike about their new album now!

‘Animal’ Tracklisting:
1. Bloom At Night
2. Gamma Ray
3. Animal
4. Climb Every Wall
5. Red Snakes
6. Paradise
7. Hair on the Pillow
8. We Cannot Resist
9. Oberon
10. Phantom Limb

Tags: LUMP, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY