Listen Fucked Up announce new album ‘Dose Your Dreams’

Fucked Up announce new album ‘Dose Your Dreams’

The band’s latest full-length picks up the narrative thread of the characters featured in ‘David Comes To Life’.

Fucked Up have confirmed details of their new album ‘Dose Your Dreams’. 

The Toronto-based band, who released their last album ‘Glass Boys’ back in 2014, have announced plans to release their new, double album (yup…) on 5th October via Merge. 

‘Dose Your Dreams’ also sees the band revisit a host of the characters which first featured into their concept album ‘David Comes To Life’, including their main protagonist David. 

Their fifth album will feature contributions from J Mascis, Miya Folick, Lido Pimienta and Owen Pallett, who also wrote the band’s latest bio, in which he said: I was sent an unfinished version of ‘Dose Your Dreams’ so that I might contribute string parts. I couldn’t stop listening to the rough mixes I received. A friend asked me how the record was. I replied, “My God, F*cked Up have made their ‘Screamadelica’.”

The band have also offered up a first taste of the record in the form ‘Raise Your Voice Joyce’, which introduces us to new character Joyce Tops, a revolutionary sorcerer that, y’know, live in a bin outside of David’s work.

Listen to the track below and check out their upcoming live dates underneath the player. 

03 London, UK – Hangar (Visions Festival)
04 Málaga, ES – CanelaParty

14 Victoria, BC – Rifflandia Festival

19 Toronto, ON – Horseshoe Tavern

03 Ottawa, ON – The 27 Club
04 Montreal, QC – La Sala Rossa
05 Burlington, VT – ArtsRiot
06 Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
08 Brooklyn, NY – Market Hotel
09 Philadelphia, PA – First Unitarian Church
10 Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel
11 Raleigh, NC – Kings
12 Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade (Purgatory Stage)
13 Nashville, TN – The High Watt

04 Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom
05 San Diego, CA – Soda Bar
06 Los Angeles, CA – Echoplex
07 Pomona, CA – The Glass House
08 Berkeley, CA – Cornerstone
10 Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios
11 Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
12 Vancouver, BC – Fox Cabaret

Read More

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

Show Me The Body: back in the New York groove

World tours and a hype-harvesting debut album made this trio one of America’s most essential groups. Back home in New York, they explain how ‘devotional’ new LP ‘Dog Whistle’ expanded their horizons.

PUP: Dead Funny

PUP: Dead Funny

The Toronto punks return with third album ‘Morbid Stuff’, a record that laughs and rages in the face of death and despair with bags of wit, humour and defiance.

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

In The Fair City: Fontaines DC

Ahead of the release of their explosive debut, we meet Fontaines DC in the city that shaped them, to unpack the creative ethos driving their success.