Listen: The 1975 debut new track ‘UGH!’

The 1975 debut new track ‘UGH!’

The second cut from ‘I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It’ received its first spin on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show.

Following batshit first single ‘Love Me’ and its equally bonkers video, The 1975 have released the second track from their upcoming new album ‘I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It’.

‘UGH!’ received a first play on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show this evening (10th December). Described by frontman Matty Healy as “something that goes back to the early foundation of how we write music as The 1975,” it’s a tropical, wavering take on The 1975’s funkier pop tendencies, Matty Healy channeling his inner Justin Timberlake atop skronky, space-age synths. Listen below, and check out a new accompanying doodle from Matty along with it.

‘I Like It When You Sleep…’ is released via Dirty Hit Records on February 26th. ‘UGH’ comes following an intimate UK tour that saw the Manchester band debuting a number of new songs from the record live. They’ve got a mammoth UK tour coming up in March, dates for that are:

05 London, O2 Academy Brixton
07 London, O2 Academy Brixton
08 London, O2 Academy Brixton
09 London, O2 Academy Brixton
13 Manchester, O2 Apollo
14 Manchester, O2 Apollo
15 Manchester, O2 Apollo
18 Glasgow, O2 Academy Glasgow
19 Glasgow, O2 Academy Glasgow
20 Glasgow, O2 Academy Glasgow
22 Birmingham, Barclaycard Arena
24 Dublin, 3Arena

The 1975 debut new track ‘UGH!’


We’re often asked about you, our readers. So we’d really appreciate it if you’d offer up a bit of information about you, and your music-loving habits by filling in our 2019 readers’ survey.

Click here to reach the 2019 DIY readers’ survey.

(Don’t worry, none of what we’re asking for is personally identifiable - and no questions are compulsory.)

More like this