Listen: The Orielles share new track ‘Blue Suitcase (Disco Wrist)’

The Orielles share new track ‘Blue Suitcase (Disco Wrist)’

Their album ‘Silver Dollar Moment’ is out next month.

Halifax trio The Orielles are gearing up to release their debut album ‘Silver Dollar Moment’ on 16th February and have already given a taster in the form of ‘Let Your Dogtooth Grow’.

Now, they’ve served up the final track on the album, ‘Blue Suitcase (Disco Wrist)’. A twisting slice that melds together indie, funk and yep, a bit of a disco vibe, it also crams in some psych flourishes and a swirling guitar crescendo.

Speaking of the track, the band said: “Blue Suitcase is a track that was mostly written over the last few days of summer, inspired by events, discussions and ‘philosophical’ musings that took place in the studio during the recording of the album. We wanted to completely let loose with the track, combining psych- garage wig outs with elements of our favourite disco and dance boogie tracks, such as Luther Davis Group’s ‘You Can Be A Star’ and Rita Lee’s ‘Chega Mais’. The lyrics also fuse together an anecdotal story of spotting an unaccompanied case on a train platform, and the allegorical discussions and theories that followed. This included topics ranging from Schrodingers Cat to James and the Giant Peach!”

The Orielles are also set to head off out on tour in February, playing a whole string of dates around the UK and in Europe. Tickets are on sale now.

Listen to ‘Blue Suitcase (Disco Wrist)’ and see all of The Orielles’ upcoming European dates below.

16 Nottingham, Rough Trade (in store)
17 Sheffield, Yellow Arch Studios
18 Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
19 Bristol, Rough Trade (in store)
20 Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
21 London, Rough Trade East (in store)
22 Glasgow, Mono
23 Hebden Bridge, Trades Club

03 Paris, La Maroquinerie
04 Brussels, Botanique Witloof Bar
05 Utrecht, ACU
06 Amsterdam, Sugar Factory
07 Hamburg, Molotow
08 Berlin, The Monarch
12 London, The Garage
13 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
14 Manchester, Gorilla

05 Liverpool, Sound City
06 Leicester, Handmade Festival
17 Brighton, The Great Escape

More like this

The Age of Enlightenment: Iceage

The Age of Enlightenment: Iceage

New album, new sound, new attitude: after a decade in the game, ‘Seek Shelter’ finds the hard edges of Iceage’s magnetic frontman Elias Bender Rønnenfelt finally beginning to thaw.