Tracks: JPEGMAFIA x Danny Brown, Lana Del Rey, The Chemical Brothers and more

It’s the biggest and best of this week’s new music.

Spring has sprung, at least for the ten minutes while we’re writing this paragraph, and with it has come news of some quite exciting new records, of which JPEGMAFIA and Danny Brown teaming up leads the pack. The pair’s ‘Scaring The Hoes’ is set to be released at the end of the month, and they’ve given us lead track, ‘Lean Beef Patty’. We’ve also got another from Lana Del Rey’s latest out next week, brand new Chemical Brothers, a new Ryan Beatty record on the way, and much more.

For what we’ve got to say on the week’s pick of the pops read on. If you’d rather just update your eyes and ears with the best new music, see our Essential New Tracks playlist below.

JPEGMAFIA x Danny Brown - Lean Beef Patty

As the lead single from a collaborative album from JPEGMAFIA and Danny Brown, ‘Scaring The Hoes Vol. 1’, ‘Lean Beef Patty’ (which takes its title from a thirst-trapping TikTok fitness content creator) is activated by a crunchy, chipmunked sample of P. Diddy’s bouncy R&B classic ‘I Need a Girl, Pt. 2’ quickly layered with throbbing, highly syncopated percussive synths while Peggy’s “It’s fuck you unless you fuck with me” mentality has him jabbing at Lil Yachty and Drake while his right hook winds up to take bigger swings at Elon Musk and Ye. The track blazes onwards, not towards catharsis but round and round in an extended space of ecstasy as the song melts into a furious breakbeat, where the admixture of Danny Brown’s ambiguous and pithy trill-rap fits seamlessly over JPEG’s destructive soundscape, something which would swallow up an even slightly less-frantic artist. (Bryson Edward Howe)

Lana Del Rey - The Grants

With her ninth studio album due next week, Lana Del Rey’s recent singles have generated intrigue. Third offering and album opener ‘The Grants’ sees Lana treading new ground musically and thematically. There are hues of neo-soul in its opening minute as a trio of backing singers harmonise before the track shifts into a sweeping piano ballad. She pairs her trademark honeyed vocals with a melancholy instrumental in this poignant tribute to her family. (Sarah Taylor)

The Chemical Brothers - No Reason

Released as the outfit gear up for their slot at next month’s Coachella, The Chemical Brothers’ first new material since 2021’s ‘The Darkness That You Fear’ is exactly the kind of hypnotic paean to nihilism the summer’s festival fields and small-hours sweaty tents will be after. As sonically pummelling as the Brothers have led us to expect, its sampled message of “We have no reason to live / We have no reason at all” loops around in a hypnotic trance. (Bella Martin)

Fenne Lily - In My Own Time

Featuring her intimate vocals against a breezy backdrop, ‘In My Own Time’, the third single from Fenne Lily’s upcoming third album, ‘The Big Picture’, is a track that is beautiful and delicate. With sharp lyricism, the song builds up to an endearing final message: “Write me a love song, make it all rhyme / Hold me up sometimes, we’ll be fine”. (Katie Macbeth)

Ryan Beatty - Ribbons

There’s something wonderful in vivid storytelling that gives absolutely nothing of its premise away. The titular ‘Ribbons’ of Ryan Beatty’s latest are poetically-described tears (“Driving with the headlights off / Ribbons running through your face”), but other than the whole of the Golden State, this lusciously-woven tale with nary structure nor lyrical conclusion and yet a ton of emotional rawness (“It’s brave to be nothing to no one at all” a heck of a line) is mysterious in all the best ways. (Bella Martin)

Will Joseph Cook - MF Bassline

A song about being gentle with yourself, ‘MF Bassline’ is Will Joseph Cook exploring self love in his own words. Using his signature concoction of hip hop-inflected indie pop, ‘MF Bassline’ utilises a softer, sultry chorus sitting alongside small creative bursts of spoken word. Accompanied by a prominent singular recurring beat, the track comes layered above swipes of guitar and a slight smattering of jazz-inspired keys. A musical treat wrapped up in a precise production process, ‘MF Bassline’ is one suited to the calmer moments in life. (Faith Martin)

Temples - Afterlife

Temples are the sort of band that have a niche - prismatic, richly melodic psych - that lends itself to subtle tweaks rather than giant leaps in sound. In other words, after a decade in the game, the Kettering quartet aren’t about to go making a hyperpop record. What they have managed with latest single ‘Afterlife’, however, is to inject a more modern slant - largely thanks to some early Bloc Party-style drumming - into the mellifluous mix. It’s not rewriting their own rulebook, but maybe adding a couple of extra lines to the tenets. (Lisa Wright)

The Lemon Twigs - In My Head

The third single from The Lemon Twigs’ upcoming ‘Everything Harmony’ is a sugary escape with retro sounds and angelic pitch. Primarily a track about the disengagement between the brain and perception of self, ‘In My Head’ uses a simple melody, heightened with the use of a catchy chorus that swirls around after just one listen. The song manages to evoke mental imagery of bright orange sunsets and ’70s sheer blouses despite its rather more meaningful, darker lyricism. (Faith Martin)

Tags: JPEGMAFIA, Listen

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

More like this

Latest Issue

March 2023

Featuring Fall Out Boy, Sleaford Mods, Black Honey, Meet Me @ The Altar and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY