Thurston Moore’s Chelsea Light Moving Announce Album

The band will head out on tour across North America in support of its release.

One of ex-Sonic Youther Thurston Moore’s many new projects, Chelsea Light Moving, have revealed details of their debut album - and a North American tour in support of it.

The self-titled album is due out on March 5th (Stateside, at least), courtesy of Matador Records. The group hit the road for a 20-date tour starting the same month, with support from Talk Normal, Merchandise, Grass Window and CAVE (not all at the same time). Full details are below.

The group - headed by Moore on guitar/vocals, also featuring Samara Lubelski on bass, Keith Wood (aka Hush Arbors) on guitar and John Moloney on drums - released the songs ‘Frank O’ Hara Hit’ online last year, accompanied by lengthy explanations by the former Mr Kim Gordon.


2 Hoboken, NJ - Maxwells
4 Charlottesville, VA - The Southern
5 Asheville, NC - Grey Eagle
6 Raleigh, NC - Kings Barcade
7 Savannah, GA - Savannah Stopover
8 Atlanta, GA - The Earl
10 Denton, TX - 35 Denton
19 Los Angeles, CA - Echoplex
20 San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall
22 Portland, OR - Doug Fir
23 Seattle, WA - Neumo’s
27 Minneapolis, MN - Triple Rock
29 Chicago, IL - Empty Bottle
30 Detroit, MI - Magic Stick
31 Toronto, Ontario - Lee’s Palace


2 Pittsburgh, PA - Mr. Smalls
3 Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer
4 Washington, DC - Black Cat
5 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom
7 Boston, MA - The Sinclair

Talk Normal supports March 2-8
Merchandise also supports March 8
Grass Widow supports March 19-23
CAVE supports March 27-30

Tags: News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY