Listen: Girl Ray celebrate friendship on ‘Don’t Go Back At Ten’

The trio have also announced a new string of UK dates!

London trio Girl Ray are set to release their much-anticipated debut album ‘Earl Grey’ in August and they’ve already shared a couple of tunes from it. Now they’re back with a brand new track!

‘Don’t Go Back At Ten’ centres around the enduring bonds of friendship. Poppy Hankin said of the track: “After a break-up I was super low, and as clichéd and teen-movie as it sounds, it was truly my friends who got me through it, making sure that I didn’t just mope about the whole time eating pots of cottage cheese and crying. I guess I wrote this one to cheer myself up in a way. Not many of the songs on the album are happy but this one is, kinda!”

As well as sharing the brand new track, Girl Ray have also announced a string of new UK tour dates. They’ll hit the road in October and November, playing in Liverpool, Leeds, Manchester, Glasgow, Newcastle, Birmingham, Oxford, Bristol and Brighton. They round off the tour with their already-announced show at London’s Scala. Tickets are on sale now.

Listen to ‘Don’t Go Back At Ten’ and check out all of Girl Ray’s new UK tour dates below.


30 Liverpool, Liverpool Music Week
31 Leeds, Headrow House


01 Manchester, Gullivers
02 Glasgow, Broadcast
03 Newcastle, Think Tank Underground
05 Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
06 Oxford, The Cellar
07 Bristol, Louisiana
08 Brighton, Green Door Store
09 London, Scala

Girl Ray will play Latitude (13th-16th July), where DIY is an official media partner. Tickets are on sale now. Visit for more information.

Tags: Girl Ray, Listen, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

Latest Issue

March 2023

Featuring Fall Out Boy, Sleaford Mods, Black Honey, Meet Me @ The Altar and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY