Peace, Gengahr, Jaws and more appear on new charity vinyl ‘What’s Going On?’

The profits will be shared between Music Venue Trust and musically-aligned, BAME supporting mental health outfits via L;FE.

Announced today, CloseUp and Blood Records have announced new limited edition charity vinyl ‘What’s Going On?’, featuring B-sides, demos, remixes and more from loads of DIY faves.

“We live in troubled, troubling times,” a statement reads. “One of the things is the immediate and grave threat to more than 800 of our most adored smaller music venues throughout the country. They represent the soul of our musical culture, and so comes the requisitioning of Marvin Gaye’s famous title for this project.”

With profits set to be split between Music Venue Trust (90% of profits) and musically-aligned, BAME supporting mental health outfits via L;FE (10% of all profits), the statement continues, “CloseUp & all involved with ​‘What’s Going On?’ work with many of the venues that are struggling due to the COVID crisis. Many are under serious threat of permanent closure. We host, promote and route tours in and through well over 50% of the venues the Music Venue Trust is supporting.

“This is a cause dear to us, and to the artists, promoters, managers and agents that make Britain’s musical life so rich and vigorous. Closures will cause obvious immediate problems for individual members of staff, from venue managers, to sound techs, bar managers & more. They will also create a cultural void, remove opportunity and life from the grassroots up in towns across the UK, for years to come. We simply cannot sit back and allow this to happen. The incredibly generous acts on ‘What’s Going On?’ have worked and performed in these venues & will, we hope, continue to do so. We recognise the gravity of the situation, and so do they.

“Mental health, especially at this time, cannot be ignored. As the events sector still lacks clear answers & timelines, all aforementioned members of the industry face continued uncertainty, including ourselves. L;FE is an outfit that gives to many mid-level mental health charities, essentially donating ideas & funding to the absolute front line of the battle against mental distress. Often music-related, and championed by George Godfrey @ Radio X, it’s a cause deserving of the utmost support.”

See the full track list below and head here to grab your copy.

‘What’s Going On?’ Tracklisting:
1. PEACE - From Under Liquid Glass (Live at Symphony Hall)
2. FLYTE - Room With A View (Demo)
3. whenyoung - Never Let Go (Video Blue Remix)
4. Little Comets - Lost Time (Demo)
5. Connie Constance - Gran Torino
6. Abbie Ozard - Clouds
7. Sad Boys Club - Murderwood
8. Gengahr - Broken Wings (Demo)
9. The Night Cafe - Thinking Of You
10. Jerry Williams - Jeane (The Smiths, Cover)
11. Marsicans - Can I Stay Here Forever (Pt. 1)
12. JAWS - Untitled

Get tickets to watch Peace live now.

Tags: Connie Constance, Flyte, Gengahr, JAWS, Little Comets, Peace, The Night Cafe, whenyoung, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

March 2024

Featuring Green Day, English Teacher, Everything Everything, Caity Baser and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY