Sufjan Stevens announces new album ‘The Ascension’

He’ll release the follow-up to 2015’s ‘Carrie and Lowell’ this September.

Sufjan Stevens has announced plans to release his new album ‘The Ascension’ this September.

The singer-songwriter’s eighth album will follow up his 2015 record ‘Carrie & Lowell’, and will be released on 25th September via Asthmatic Kitty Records. He’ll also be sharing one of its tracks, ‘America’, this Friday (3rd July).

The new full-length follows on from his most recent work - his three contributions to 2017’s Call Me By Your Name soundtrack - and features fifteen tracks in total. Take a look at the tracklisting below.

1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
3. Video Game (4:16)
4. Lamentations (3:42)
5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
6. Die Happy (5:47)
7. Ativan (6:32)
8. Ursa Major (3:43)
9. Landslide (5:04)
10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
11. Death Star (4:04)
12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
13. Sugar (7:37)
14. The Ascension (5:56)
15. America (12:30)

Tags: News, Listen

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY