And the nominees are…: Polaris Music Prize reveals long list of nominees including Drake, Alvvays, Caribou

Viet Cong, Tobias Jesso Jr., and Metz are also up for the award

The annual long list for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize has been revealed.

The Canadian music award has recognised 13 artists and albums to honour from the past year, a long list that includes Drake, past winner Caribou, and Tobias Jesso Jr.

Alvvays, Metz, Viet Cong, and Braids are also nominated in the first announcement, which will be trimmed down to a shortlist and announced on 16th July. The nominees and releases are:

Alvvays ‘Alvvays
Braids ‘Deep In The Iris
Caribou ‘Our Love
Colin Stetson and Sarah Neufeld ‘Never the Way She Was’
Death From Above 1979 ‘The Physical World
Drake ‘If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late
Ghostface Killah and BADBADNOTGOOD ‘Sour Soul’
Metz ‘II
The New Pornographers ‘Brill Bruisers’
Tobias Jesso Jr. ‘Goon
White Lung ‘Deep Fantasy’
Viet Cong ‘Viet Cong
Young Guv ‘Ripe 4 Luv’

Now in its ninth year, the winner of this year’s award will be announced on 21st September at the Polaris Music Prize Gala, receiving a sum of $50,000. Past winners have included Tanya Tagaq, Arcade Fire, Feist, and Fucked Up. Read more over on the Polaris Music Prize website.

Tags: Alvvays, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

DIY's Tracks of 2022

DIY’s Tracks of 2022

From The 1975 to Shygirl; Arctic Monkeys to Ethel Cain; Yeah Yeah Yeahs to My Chemical Romance, here are the tracks we had on repeat this year.

Latest Issue

March 2023

Featuring Fall Out Boy, Sleaford Mods, Black Honey, Meet Me @ The Altar and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY